spring: sap rising

Hello!

My goodness, it has been a while…

Since the last post on this blog, I have married (with an oaken ring!) and moved to the incredible town where our interfaith marriage was celebrated. I have also plunged into another horrible, wordless depression, and emerged on the other side with some radically changed ideas about what I am doing and why. And now spring is here! I can really feel the sap rising.

Over the next few weeks I will make some changes to this blog, to harness and channel the renewed enthusiasm that always comes with spring. This time I plan to keep up the momentum.

Right now, I am fulfilling a decade-long ambition by (finally!) studying the tarot. The course I am following is provided by the wonderfully grounded and inspirational Beth Maiden at Little Red Tarot. At two weeks in, it has already taken me to some deep and unexpected places, which has inspired copious amounts of notes in my journal. I plan to share the journey in a dedicated section on this blog – please drop in and join the conversation!

My posts on deity will have their own area, where I can indulge all the mysticism and reverence in which my soul delights, leaving the core of this blog free for more topical posts about forthcoming events and conversations in druidic cyberspace. Speaking of which… in the next few months I will produce a video talk or two for the ADO exploring our Taliesin-inspired approach to druidry. My first planned talk will focus on Caer Siddi, the seat of illusion, where Gweir sings woefully before the spoils of Annwn. What is the nature of the chains that hold us back from reaching the spoils of Annwfn, the wisdom and inspiration of the deep? I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences on this topic.

The last, tentative, change will be to introduce an area for exploring flower remedies. I plan to train as a Bach practitioner this year, in the hope of helping others, after receiving so much help myself. This blog embraces magic and intention-setting, with a strong emphasis on healing relationships with the natural world: this is what I feel flower remedies have to offer. They are empowering. Having said that, over the past few weeks I have found myself frustrated by the lack of depth in what I read about these remedies online – most sites seem to parrot the brief descriptions given by Dr. Bach without exploring what they mean in a modern context, in a culture with a radically different understanding of emotional and spiritual wellbeing from 1930s Britain. At the moment all I have to offer is personal experience, but that is a start, and I hope to write more as I progress.

hornbeam

hornbeam

How is everything on the other side of the screen?

/|\ Cadno

10 thoughts on “spring: sap rising

  1. Spring is so inspirational! Looking forward to what you have to say about Caer Siddi, and yes …. the awen flows from there.

    I saw a piece in Planet Magazine recently which I think was jointly written by you?

    • Yes – a conversation with Ted Parry, which he wrote up, after we met in the Liverpool ‘Philosophy in Pubs’ conference. My ideas about nationalism are still in a state of flux, but echoes of Victorian Wales and whispers of Yr Hen Ogledd are very present around Liverpool Bay… What did you make of it?

      • It was interesting to get the perspective on Wales from Liverpool (and Vis-Versa) and the view of Liverpool as not really being in England if I remember correctly. Your Hen Gogledd refs resonated of course as did the whispers around Liverpool Bay! In spite of the very real differences and divisions in current politics, Ynys Prydain still lies behind our common identity.

      • I would have to agree with that sense of commonality. Between the recording of the conversation and the publication of the article, I spent a while travelling around the former Yugoslavia and returned with a strong sense that it is important for us to make our cultural differences part of our common identity – that finding common ground is more crucial now than ever.

      • It has always seemed to me that polytheism reflects the proper balance between close attachment to our own particularity together with an acknowledgement of diversity. These have, anyway, always been values that I strive for.

  2. I’m glad you’re blogging again :) Congratulations on your marriage! I’ll look forward, in particular, to seeing your video on Caer Siddi. I found this fortress the most inaccessible, but my journey through the fortresses last year suggested to me they’re all different faces of the same fort where the Spoils of Annwn reside, looked over by the Head of Annwn… I’d be interested to hear whether you think that Gweir is ‘the same’ as Graid son of Eri, who is taken prisoner by Gwyn ap Nudd and also referred to by Mabon. There seem to be overlaps between Graid and Gweir as one of the ‘exalted prisoners’ of Ynys Prydain.

    • Hello :)
      I have actually just been reading your writing on Caer Siddi for inspiration. Gweir is an interesting figure with several potential overlaps and cognates – I have also been exploring the possibility that he is also Gwri Gwallt Euryn, i.e. the son of Pwyll and Rhiannon before he becomes Pryderi. This fort is also a struggle for me, and confronting it has come to symbolise breaking free of all the things I think I ought to be doing, which keep me from the inspiration that calls to me from the deep… The Spoils of Annwn are different for each of us, I think, but we each have to journey there to find them.

      • ‘breaking free of all the things I think I ought to be doing, which keep me from the inspiration that calls to me from the deep’ – I know this feeling and have also been a similar process this winter!

        Interesting to hear your thoughts about the Gwallt connection; the monstrous creepy hand grabbing him and dragging him through the wormholes of Annwn. The Mabon connection arises again… What’s with the kidnappings of (mainly) young men and their imprisonment in the Deep?!

Leave a Reply

